five minute friday

Do you sense a break?

Prompt: break

I logged on tonight, determined to write my Five Minute Friday post before Friday ended, just to realize since Lisa Jo is taking a break this week, there was no prompt from her for writing.

“Well,” I thought out loud, “I can make my own.”  Before I started writing though, I checked the #FMFparty on Twitter, just be sure I did not miss the prompt altogether. (Yes, it has been that sort of week!)

It was confirmed, there is no official prompt from Lisa, but several ladies are doing their own link up over at Trending Mama, so I am joining with them, and using the prompt, break.

Go

So often things seem to flow along so well in life. (OK, so often they don’t, but I am focusing on the times they do!) Routines of daily living are working well, projects are being accomplished, we get through our days with relative ease. Thoughts and plans and ideas come and conversations with family and friends are rewarding and encouraging. Then something comes along to break that easy flow.  That something could be a difficult situation, events that we did not anticipate that “gum up the works” so to speak, something I thought I had under control that suddenly I realize I don’t!

There is a break in the way things are moving, and it throws me. . . and if it is severe enough, I feel broken. Maybe not physically, but emotionally. I stop short not really suddenly broken, but maybe realizing how broken I have always been. It has just been hidden until now.

Even I write, the activity of my family around me causes irritation and frustration to rise within my heart. Not really stirring it up a new, but causing me to see that it is there. Bringing me to see how truly broken I am inside. Though, I like to think I have it all together, that things are working well (and they are), and that perfect peace reigns. The harsh light of the realities of life bring to bare the fact that down at the core of who I am there is a break in me.

Stop

My five minute timer has rung, still there is more to this aspect of my story. Though, yes, I see the breaks in my soul and the how the reality of who I am breaks from the ideal I would love to say is true of me, all hope is not lost! I have a great God. A great God who loves me as I am for who I am, forgives me for thinking I am independent of or greater than Him, and strengthens me for the work He has given me. When things are moving well, I AM still broken, but my great God is working through me and in me. And when things are falling apart, and I just want to hide from the world and all the people around me; my great God is working through me and in me. We are broken, but God uses the broken – whether we sense the reality of our brokenness or not  – He is loving, forgiving, and working.

As I seek to develop, practice and hone my writing and blogging skills, I have committed to participating in the Five Minute Friday writing prompts and associated link up hosted by Lisa-Jo Baker at her site. I hope to be able to make these posts every Friday, but already life has proven to me that I need to be flexible, so though the posts may not always go up on Fridays, they will go up! I hope in my unedited writing here, you will be encouraged and challenged to look to God, to love your family, and enjoy this journey of simply life! 

Hundreds of writers, one word prompt, and just five minutes – watch amazing things happen. Hop on over to Lisa-Jo Baker to see what it is all about. Each Friday I’ll will join others that follow the prompt posted by Lisa, and then I’ll link up at her website with everyone else who is there to share what they have written.

3 thoughts on “Do you sense a break?”

  1. I guess we’re the diehards—writing no matter what. And yes, I squeezed mine in before Friday ended (on the West Coast anyway). I wrote about the good kind of break, but I’ve experienced the bad kind that you write about too. And God does work through our brokenness, loving us where we are and bringing us always closer to him. Blessings to you and good night.

    Like

  2. Thanks for linking up, by the time a few of us had thought to create a link up ourselves most of the part was gone – but with that said it has actually been what I consider to be a success because there are so few of us instead of hundreds that I have been able to read every post and really pay attention to what I am reading. I feel like during this “break” I am actually putting on the brakes and slowing down and enjoying this small group of fellowship in a different way than I do most weeks where I pick and choose with no real idea in mind. I am so happy you joined us, happy you came onto the party and happy you are brave enough to bare a part of your soul with us once again this week. Realizing that God is ALWAYS superior no matter how high and mighty we may feel is a humbling experience and once we come to that realization everything else seems to flow in a way it didn’t before, a more content way, a more purposeful way. God bless you!

    Like

  3. The realisation of my brokenness has given me a freedom which I have chosen to embrace. I get to be who I wish to be and aim to be who God wants me to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

