five minute friday

What makes someone your friend? {Five Minute Friday}

Prompt: friend

Go

man and boyFriendship is a such a personal thing. What one desires and looks for in a friend can be so varied from individual to individual or even from season of life to season of life. Yet, we all long for the connection we can receive from a friendship. Maybe that all comes back to the fact we were made to have a friendship/relationship with God, after all he created us to have connection with us.

Today, what are you looking for in a friend. When you claim someone as your friend, what makes you do that? Is it the contributions they make to your life? Is is the way that you are able to help and encourage each other? Maybe it is a shared value or point of view? What moves someone from the acquaintance category of life to friendship?

I offer no real ideas or thoughts on it, just the prompting to think . . . what causes you to say, “That person is my friend.” and a challenge to consider.

Are the things that make another person my friend a part of my life?
Am I a friend to those around me?

Stop

As I seek to develop, practice and hone my writing and blogging skills, I have committed to participating in the Five Minute Friday writing prompts and associated link up hosted by Lisa-Jo Baker at her site. I hope to be able to make these posts every Friday, but already life has proven to me that I need to be flexible, so though the posts may not always go up on Fridays, they will go up! I hope in my unedited writing here, you will be encouraged and challenged to look to God, to love your family, and enjoy this journey of simply life! 

Hundreds of writers, one word prompt, and just five minutes – watch amazing things happen. Hop on over to Lisa-Jo Baker to see what it is all about. Each Friday I’ll will join others that follow the prompt posted by Lisa, and then I’ll link up at her website with everyone else who is there to share what they have written.

2 thoughts on “What makes someone your friend? {Five Minute Friday}”

  1. Interesting questions to think about. Sometimes it is a challenge to be the kind of friend that we want for ourselves.
    *an FMF friend stopping by to visit

Leave a Reply

