book review

“Say Goodbye to Survival Mode” {Book Review}

This is my favorite “I am not going to read that” book. In my comments about what I was currently reading last month, I mentioned that though I had heard about Crystal Paine’s new book when it came out, I had no intention of reading it. (Read here for why.) Now having completed it, Say Goodbye to Survival Mode is one of my new favorites, and among the list of books I would recommend to most anyone.

“In Say Goodbye to Survival Mode, you’ll find both practical ideas and big picture perspective that will inspire you to live life on purpose. As a wife, mother of three, and founder of the wildly successful blog MoneySavingMom.com, Crystal Paine has walked the road from barely surviving to living with intentional. With the warmth and candor of a dear friend, she shares what she’s learned along the way.

Packed with straightforward solutions, you’ll use today and inspirational stories you’ll remember for years, Say Goodbye to Survival Mode is a must for any [one] who’s ever longed for the freedom to enjoy life, not just survive it.” (these comments are taken right from the book jacket)

Paine quote medCrystal walks her readers through the process of evaluating what is important, what you are good at, and structuring your time and life to support what it is you want to be doing and need to do. Throughout the book, Crystal weaves her personal story with ideas for life management and action steps for you as the reader to take making this book interesting to read as well as informational and challenging.

It is hard to me to say what I liked most about the book. There are so many good aspects to what Crystal says. Though none of the material was new to me I greatly enjoyed reading what she presented. She walks the reader through the thoughtful process of evaluating one’s time and presenting steps to getting beyond just surviving day to day. Each chapter has a specific focus of discussion, goals to accomplish as you read it, and a strategy or action step to take as you read.

In my book reading, there is often something about a book that I don’t like, no matter how much I love it. However, as I review in my mind what I read, and look over the scribbles and notes and highlights of my copy of her book, I do not recall disliking anything in Crystal’s book. The reader may be tempted to think, “Sure, she can say that . . . look at what she accomplishes. There is no way I can do what she has done with my life the way it is.” Crystal never seeks to set herself up as a perfect example. In fact it is easy to see throughout the book that she is simply a wife and mother who has learned some valuable lessons, figured out how to apply them in her life, and is seeking to encourage her readers to do the same.

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.” Theodore Roosevelt

survival modeIf you are looking for an easy to read, informational book on life management this is for you. If you think you already know what you need to know, but are struggling with getting the knowledge from your head to action steps in your life, Crystal provides clear and easy to follow steps through her book. If you are doing well with time and life management, and want to gain some new perspective or a refresher in what you already know, Crystal provides an enjoyable way for you to do so.

Say Goodbye to Survival Mode has quickly taken its place on my life-changers list of books, and is one of my new favorites to recommend to anyone seeking to move to a more intentional way of living.

What have you been reading this month? I would love to hear your comments about your current reading or this month’s featured book.

Also, check out the opportunity coming tomorrow for some great e-books and bonus products. More coming about this amazing deal Wednesday. Would yo like to be remind you when this deal is available later this week? Sign up for blog updates in your inbox and I’ll send you a note to remind you.

Leave a Reply

