five minute friday

A writer?

Prompt: writer

Go

So, am I a writer? What a question!

It sort of seems like the question of what is first, the chicken or the egg. Am I am writer because I write, or do I write because I am a writer? Maybe it is a bit of both. I write because there is something in me seeking to be said or I am searching for a way to connect with others, to share what I know, and to make an impact. Writing may just be the easiest medium for me to express myself in because I have a small bit of experience writing (read, English minor in college). Maybe because I am seeking to develop this habit/skill, because I practice it daily (OK, almost daily), because it has become a part of my life and in turn a part of who I am – then I can say, “yes, I am a writer.”

With fear and uncertainty, the words are said. Just as it is with fear and uncertainty I type this post. Yet, this posting is a part of the process that is helping to make me the writer I hope to be. So, claiming the title, with all the inexperience, fear, and uncertainty is a part of making me the writer that I am going to be (and for this moment, in this time, I am).

Stop

As I seek to develop, practice and hone my writing and blogging skills, I have committed to participating in the Five Minute Friday writing prompts and associated link up hosted by Lisa-Jo Baker at her site. I hope to be able to make these posts every Friday, but already life has proven to me that I need to be flexible, so though the posts may not always go up on Fridays, they will go up! I hope in my unedited writing here, you will be encouraged and challenged to look to God, to love your family, and enjoy this journey of simply life! 

Hundreds of writers, one word prompt, and just five minutes – watch amazing things happen. Hop on over to Lisa-Jo Baker to see what it is all about. Each Friday I’ll will join others that follow the prompt posted by Lisa, and then I’ll link up at her website with everyone else who is there to share what they have written.

Leave a Reply

