five minute friday

What Does Joy Look Like?

As I seek to develop, practice and hone my writing and blogging skills, I have committed to participating in the Five Minute Friday writing prompts and associated link up hosted by Lisa-Jo Baker at her site. I hope to be able to make these posts every Friday, but already life has proven to me that I need to be flexible, so though the posts may not always go up on Fridays, they will go up! I hope in my unedited writing here, you will be encouraged and challenged to look to God, to love your family, and enjoy this journey of simply life!

Prompt: Joy

Go

Joy, what a word! what a blur of emotions behind it. You might have visions of sunshine, and flowers, and wide open fields of refreshing breeze when you consider joy. Well, maybe YOU might not, but I often do. However, today is not a day like that. Today joy takes more the appearance of the ordinary and plan gray. The skies are cloudy, and cool early spring breezes fill the air. There are no flowers, just piles of gray melting uck. Joy today looks more like the routine of cleaning and errands and playing with kids and do the things that keep life moving forward.

It may sound depressing and I as I began to write it was . . . yet, even now as we peek in the corners of ordinary life, joy, though plain Jane today, is still beautiful. The beauty just appears in a different way then initially expected.

How true of life’s greatest joy. Some times it bursts on the scene announcing its arrival in full colored flurry. Yet, when it does not, for often times joy sneaks in quietly and sits beside you in the mundane and ordinary. It is a quiet companion to the everyday routine of life. This joy, the kind that is just there, can so often be overlooked and forgotten a midst the screaming chaos and headaches that seek to shut it out. Don’t for get to look for her, your joy; seek her, she is there hiding in the mundane.

For those that know God, the joy that He provides is our strength! When we are down and discouraged and tired, the joy of the LORD is our strength! Drink it in, bask in it, and may it empower you for whatever you may have before you today.

Stop

Hundreds of writers, one word prompt, and just five minutes – watch amazing things happen. Hop on over to Lisa-Jo Baker to see what it is all about. Each Friday I’ll will join others that follow the prompt posted by Lisa, and then I’ll link up at her website with everyone else who is there to share what they have written.

7 thoughts on “What Does Joy Look Like?”

  1. Love this! —Especially–

    “yet, even now as we peek in the corners of ordinary life, joy, though plain Jane today, is still beautiful. The beauty just appears in a different way then initially expected.”

    Beautiful words!

    Like

  2. Hi, Jessica! I’m reading through my FMF book today…….I’ll admit that I’ve had a difficult time in allowing myself to finish it. For me, it’s one of those things I don’t want to end.

    I don’t think I’ve ever been your FMF neighbor, but I do want you to know that I love your JOY post/book submission. My husband preached on joy this morning and this goes beautifully with his message. What a blessing it is to read your words today.

    Much love to you and thank you for sharing such truth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

