personal growth

Living differently, living stress less

I don’t often write just spur of the moment, well, it might be better said I don’t often post spur of the moment. My drafts folder is full of ideas started and posts half written. I actually write very often spur of the moment! Why do the best ideas come when you can’t actually write them down? like in the middle of your shower or while driving to get the kids from school.  As I am learning the unique skill called blogging and figuring out the balance of all the activities of my life, posts often take quite a few days or weeks to actually make it on the blog.

Yet, when I read Myquillyn’s post on her unword for the year, I so could relate with the idea! This is something I had to write and post now. (You can read more about my blogging journey, here.) I appreciate having goals and am loving the reminder of my OneWord for 2014. Yet, there is still the sense of something else, but I could not quite put my finger on what it was I was looking for. Another goal? Would a different word  for the year have been better? And then, amidst my bloglovin’ feed, a post about an unword? This is it!

unword bike
photo via TheNester.com

Something I want to leave behind this year. Something I would like to have less of in my life. Something to let go of in the midst of the everyday activities and events. Stress – that unavoidable pressure, the awful twist in your stomach, the screaming pain of a tension headache. Stress is a part of life, but I believe the stress we internalize and pick up and choose to live is the stress that makes us so miserable. So adding to my One Word for 2014, my {un}word for 2014: stress. Maybe better said {un}stress.

unstress with credit

As I choose to focus on the abundance in my life, the bounty and joy that are woven through out the moments, I can chose to set down, to leave the stress that can also surround me, and live in the joy of the LORD, in the wonders He gives, if I only see them!

How about you? Do you have something you would rather leave behind this year? What might your {un}word for 2014 be? Join me, and please check out others that selecting an unword for 2014.

2 thoughts on “Living differently, living stress less”

  1. “As I choose to focus on the abundance in my life, the bounty and joy that are woven through out the moments, I can chose to set down, to leave the stress that can also surround me, and live in the joy of the LORD, in the wonders He gives, if I only see them!”

    I love this! My husband reminds me almost daily to focus on the abundance in my life, not what we are lacking, as God is providing everything we NEED. This helps with the stress. Thanks for the reminder to live in the joy of the Lord every day!

    1. You are most welcome, I hope you continue to be encouraged in God. The joy of the LORD is strength for the moments we need it most, and even those moments we don’t know we need it, but really do! Praying that you will continue to see the amazing abundance of God all around you.

Leave a Reply

