home

My Kitchen Nemesis

Nemesis seems like a strong work to describe something found in most every kitchen. Yet, that is how I am feeling about my pantry. We have a very small galley style kitchen which serves our family of five very well, though leaves a lot to be desired as far as storage space. Since the entrance to our home is next to the kitchen and the “front” closet is very large, I have requisitioned half of the closet for my pantry space. My husband helped me put in two tall shelving units perpendicular to the wall. This created quite a bit of shelving space. The addition of a few removable hooks, a plastic bag dispenser, and a trash can for our recycling and “voila” we have a pantry!!

DSCF7720

It serves us very well, however over the summer months it has gotten increasingly disastrous. The time is now here when it is actually quite dangerous to open it, for something may decide to take a tumble from where it is perched and suddenly you have Cheerios and dried egg noodles all over you and the floor. (Not that I speak from experience, or anything!)

As this picture can verify, the pantry closet definitely needs some de-cluttering/organizing attention. A good cleaning wouldn’t hurt it either. If you can imagine, it has actually gotten worse since I took this photo a couple of weeks ago. I did not think it was possible, but it is worse! I don’t consider myself a quitter, but last week, I admit I gave up trying to make things work in this space. It is beyond recoverable! No quick cleaning/organizing is going to tame this monster.

So, my plan: this week I will empty everything from the closet – yes, everything. I am taking advantage of this desperate need for organizing and will do some purging as well.  There is more in this space than will reasonably fit and I need to make some decisions on what I will keep here, what will find a new home for somewhere else in our house, and what will be let go to a new home with another family. A good vacuuming and wiping of shelving and walls is in order. Then, the fun part, finding a way to put the appliances, food stuffs, and cooking utensils I store here back in with an eye for order and a thought towards how we use it all. Who knows, maybe I’ll find that long lost cake pan or can of soup that I forgot I had.

What about you? Do you have a place in your home that is your nemesis right now? Do you have plans to de-clutter/clean/organize it in the near future? Maybe we can work on our projects “together.” Let me know what you are tackling this week and how it goes. I love to hear from you. 

Organize-It-Link-Party-button2

With this project I am linking up with I’m An Organizing Junkie in her September Organize It! Linky Party. 

1 thought on “My Kitchen Nemesis”

Leave a Reply

